Indoor Composting: The Nitty-Gritty

Hello, Greenies! I hope you’ve all had a lovely Christmas time ๐Ÿ™‚

So as I’ve mentioned before, my focus in my Green journey for the moment is on reducing and eliminating the waste that comes out of my house. This week is about what is probably the easiest waste problem to solve: organic, compostable waste.

The Solution

As I mentioned in my first ever post, there are certain things which are not generally compostable, namely meat, meat waste, fish, fish waste, and dairy products. However, since writing that post, I have discovered the Bokashi composter by Probio. Unlike most other conventional composters, you can actually put most food waste into this thing, including meat, fish, and dairy. The only things they recommend you leave out of the bin are large bones and excessive amounts of liquid (which can be disposed of easily anyway, so it’s not an issue). As a bonus, it also has a tap so that you can drain off “Bokashi juice”, a microbe-rich liquid, which you can use as fertilizer (diluted, as it’s quite strong) or in your drains and toilets to help get rid of bad bacteria and odors.

bokashi_composter_2_large
From the Probio website.

Once your organic waste has fermented in the Bokashi bin, you can add it to your compost heap or use it in one of the other ways recommended on the included pamphlet. There are many brands of indoor composters, but Probio is a great one and it’s available in Johannesburg, Pretoria, and Cape Town at Wellness Warehouse. You might also be able to find it at garden centers and/or other wellness stores.

I’m going to start using mine in January and will do an update post at the end of the month! I have much less food waste than I used to anyway because I’m being a lot more careful about not buying too much food and also about using what I have before I buy more, but I will now hopefully have zero organic waste leaving my house in a trash bin. I didn’t expect to solve this problem quite so easily, but there you go – proof once again that going green isn’t as hard as it feels.

Bokashi_Composter_Kit_large
From the Probio website.
Leave a Reply

